VMware Cloud Community
HermesArtez
Contributor
Contributor

(need help)converting cluster under domain

Hello all,

As stated, I need to p2v cluster which is under our company domain but this is my first time trying to convert a cluster. (so I am guessing it would be really different from just p2v-ing a single machine)

I have converted physical machine (not cluster) under the domain before but in my previous experience, I have noticed that this vConverter thing secretly rips off the machine from the domain during the process of conversion if the machine is under the domain. After conversion, domain account cannot access the machine anymore and the only solution is disconnecting the machine from the domain and putting it back on using the local admin account.

Best part is that domain setting of the source machine still states that it is under the domain so you do not know until your teammates start complaining that they can't login.

Now this 'past experience' was 4 month ago and I do not know if vmware team made some updates to vConverter or not.

But I don't want this to happen again with the cluster as other team is also running some codes and scripts on it.

*To sum up, I need some information on steps to virtualize cluster and whether there is a way to bypass this domain disconnection issue.*

Version of SQL and windows running in the server:

Windows 2003 server R2 Enterprise

SQL 2005 Standard

(Microsoft SQL Cluster Server with 2 nodes in active/passive configuration)

Any information, guide and links to good article/thread are all welcome and much appreciated.

Have a great day.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
mcasekar
Enthusiast
Enthusiast