1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next 202 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2016 1:14 PM by kazimnaim Go to original post
      • 30. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
        Linjo Champion
        User Moderators

        Using the vCenter Client, select the host > configuration > Security Profile > click "Properties" next to "Services" > scroll down to xorg.

        If the status is not "Running" try to select options and start.

         

        If it does not start then the driver does not load properly and we need to do some more checking why not.

         

        // Linjo

        • 31. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
          drxzeeh Novice

          i started the xorg service, after that i tried to start the vm using the "hardware" option.

          still get the same thing,  no host found for powering on the virtual machine

          device videocard is not supported. this is a general limitation.

           

          Hope you can help me, 


          Thanks again haha!

          • 32. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
            Linjo Champion
            User Moderators

            Hmm, not seen that before.

             

            What hardware version does the vm have? Needs to be version 9. (vmx-9)

            Can you issue the command "gpuvm" on the console or in a ssh session and post the result back?

            Please also post the vmware logfile that is created in the same directory as the vm resides.

             

            // Linjo

            • 33. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
              drxzeeh Novice

              when i try to do gpuvm in ssh it wont do anything.

              same goes for the console ( tried them both)

               

              when i do vib list is does recognize the driver file i got from vmware.

              when i look at configure pass trough it does see the quadro 4000.

              Its a weird story i guess!

               

              the vm's all have hardware version 9

              • 34. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                Linjo Champion
                User Moderators

                Ok, then the driver does not load properly and we need to figure out why.

                Could it be that the console is using the Quadro 4000 and will block it from loading the driver?

                For vSGA to work you need to have the console on a builtin or another addin GPU and that one set to primary display adapter.

                 

                vSGA is not using passthrough so that is a red herring.

                 

                // Linjo

                • 35. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                  drxzeeh Novice

                  There is no onboard gpu available. so if i put a lets say quadro 600 for the console, it's likely to use the 4000 for the vm's?

                  Great, going to try that right away, let me get back to you on that in a few

                  • 36. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                    Linjo Champion
                    User Moderators

                    Yes, that should work.

                    You will know when it works when the gpuvm-command gives you some output regards to memory etc.

                     

                    Keep us updated!

                     

                    // Linjo

                    • 37. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                      drxzeeh Novice

                      Well its not working yet, though my workday is over. will be coming back on this on monday.


                      Thanks for now and hope to get this owrking with your help.


                      many thanks for now,

                       

                      DrxzEEh

                      • 38. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                        Linjo Champion
                        User Moderators

                        Here is a small list of CLI commands for troubleshooting of vSGA

                         

                        gpuvm     

                        Show what VMs are using gpu(s)

                        Esxcli software vib install –v /path-to-vib/name-of-vib.vib

                        Loads the NVIDIA VIB

                        esxcli software vib list | grep NVIDIA

                        Verify NVIDIA vib is installed

                        Esxcli system module load –module nvidia

                        Verify NVIDIA module loads

                        Esxcli hardware pci list –c 0x300 –m 0xff

                        Verify devices are present

                         

                        nvidia-smi

                        General status of the GPU / driver version

                        • 39. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                          Bhargava_Shrivathsa Novice

                          Hi All,

                           

                          • I have installed VIB file for ESXi 5.1 Host (Quadro 4000)
                          • Xorg is running which helps for H/W 3D acceleration.
                          • In vmware View 5.2 we have set for H/W 3D acceleration.

                           

                          Doing all there still we are getting SVGA 3D display not VSGA display.

                           

                          I can see GPU getting utilized by VMs

                           

                          ~ # gpuvm
                          Xserver unix:0, GPU maximum memory 2076672KB
                                  pid 12830, VM "SME-VW-23", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13013, VM "SME-VW-32", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13178, VM "SME-VW-72", reserved 131072KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13255, VM "SME-VW-55", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13298, VM "SME-VW-53", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13410, VM "SME-VW-51", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  GPU memory left 921600KB.
                          Xserver unix:1, GPU maximum memory 2076672KB
                                  pid 12888, VM "SME-VW-24", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13152, VM "SME-VW-34", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13201, VM "SME-VW-56", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13275, VM "SME-VW-54", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13388, VM "SME-VW-52", reserved 204800KB of GPU memory.
                                  pid 13695, VM "SME-VW-36", reserved 205312KB of GPU memory.

                           

                          But how do i achive vSGA still all my VMs are showing svga as dispaly not vSGA.

                           

                           

                          Thanks in advance

                           

                           

                          Regards,

                          Bhargava K.

                          • 40. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                            Linjo Champion
                            User Moderators

                            Svga and vSGA has nothing todo with each other and you will not be able to tell from inside the VM that its using a GPU except for much improved 3D.

                             

                            One tool that I use to verify is this one:

                            http://www.ozone3d.net/gpu_caps_viewer/

                             

                            Run the OpenGL 2.1 benchmark and 600x600 and you should get about 30fps, without vSGA you would only get 1-3fps.

                             

                            // Linjo

                            • 41. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                              drxzeeh Novice

                              Goodmorning guys, hope u had a good weekend.

                               

                              Week has started again. i just ran some of your commands to see what's installed and whats not.

                              here's the update:

                               

                              esxcli software vib list | grep nvidia says nvidia vmware esxi 5.1 host driver vmware accepted

                               

                              Esxcli system module load –module nvidia

                              unable to load module,  status : busy. seems to  me its loaded? correct me if im wrong ofcourse.

                               

                              Esxcli hardware pci list –c 0x300 –m 0xff

                              I both see my quadro 600 and my quadro 4000 if i do that command.

                               

                              when i do the nvidia smi command it gives me my quadro 4000 status, temps and gpu fan usage.

                              display 4MB / off 2047 mb

                               

                              xorg service is still running.

                              same this happens when i try to boot up the VM using the hardware option,

                              device videocard is not supported by host!

                               

                              and yes it is running on the right host!

                               

                              Thanks in advance,


                              drxz

                              • 42. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                                Linjo Champion
                                User Moderators

                                Could you post the VMX-file and the vmware.log from the VM?

                                 

                                // Linjo

                                • 43. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                                  Bhargava_Shrivathsa Novice

                                  Hi,

                                   

                                  Thanks for the update

                                   

                                  Kindly see the table below

                                   

                                  ~ # nvidia-smi
                                  Mon Mar 25 09:44:56 2013
                                  +------------------------------------------------------+
                                  | NVIDIA-SMI 4.304.76   Driver Version: 304.76         |
                                  |-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
                                  | GPU  Name                     | Bus-Id        Disp.  | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
                                  | Fan  Temp  Perf  Pwr:Usage/Cap| Memory-Usage         | GPU-Util  Compute M. |
                                  |===============================+======================+======================|
                                  |   0  Quadro 4000              | 0000:05:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
                                  | 36%   82C    P1    N/A /  N/A |  29%  594MB / 2047MB |      7%      Default |
                                  +-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
                                  |   1  Quadro 4000              | 0000:42:00.0     Off |                  N/A |
                                  | 36%   52C   P12    N/A /  N/A |  15%  306MB / 2047MB |     12%      Default |
                                  +-------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+

                                   

                                  +-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
                                  | Compute processes:                                               GPU Memory |
                                  |  GPU       PID  Process name                                     Usage      |
                                  |=============================================================================|
                                  |  No running compute processes found                                         |
                                  +-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+

                                   

                                  GPU utilization is is just 15% to 30%. How can I utiliz to its max.

                                  • 44. Re: Nvidia Quadro <3 vSphere 5.1?
                                    drxzeeh Novice
                                    .encoding = "UTF-8"
                                    config.version = "8"
                                    virtualHW.version = "9"
                                    pciBridge0.present = "true"
                                    pciBridge4.present = "true"
                                    pciBridge4.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
                                    pciBridge4.functions = "8"
                                    pciBridge5.present = "true"
                                    pciBridge5.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
                                    pciBridge5.functions = "8"
                                    pciBridge6.present = "true"
                                    pciBridge6.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
                                    pciBridge6.functions = "8"
                                    pciBridge7.present = "true"
                                    pciBridge7.virtualDev = "pcieRootPort"
                                    pciBridge7.functions = "8"
                                    vmci0.present = "true"
                                    nvram = "win7hardware1.nvram"
                                    virtualHW.productCompatibility = "hosted"
                                    powerType.powerOff = "soft"
                                    powerType.powerOn = "hard"
                                    powerType.suspend = "hard"
                                    powerType.reset = "soft"
                                    displayName = "win7hardware1"
                                    extendedConfigFile = "win7hardware1.vmxf"
                                    floppy0.present = "true"
                                    scsi0.present = "true"
                                    scsi0.sharedBus = "none"
                                    scsi0.virtualDev = "lsisas1068"
                                    scsi0.pciSlotNumber = "160"
                                    memsize = "2048"
                                    scsi0:0.present = "true"
                                    scsi0:0.fileName = "win7hardware1.vmdk"
                                    scsi0:0.deviceType = "scsi-hardDisk"
                                    sched.scsi0:0.shares = "normal"
                                    sched.scsi0:0.throughputCap = "off"
                                    ide0:0.present = "true"
                                    ide0:0.fileName = "/vmfs/volumes/51236991-66a85ce8-fcd5-001517126726/en_office_enterprise_2007_DVD_VL_X12-19574.iso"
                                    ide0:0.deviceType = "cdrom-image"
                                    floppy0.startConnected = "false"
                                    floppy0.fileName = ""
                                    floppy0.clientDevice = "true"
                                    ethernet0.present = "true"
                                    ethernet0.pciSlotNumber = "192"
                                    ethernet0.virtualDev = "vmxnet3"
                                    ethernet0.networkName = "VM Network"
                                    ethernet0.addressType = "vpx"
                                    ethernet0.generatedAddress = "00:50:56:85:6b:7c"
                                    usb.present = "true"
                                    ehci.present = "true"
                                    usb.pciSlotNumber = "33"
                                    ehci.pciSlotNumber = "34"
                                    svga.vramSize = "100663296"
                                    vmci0.pciSlotNumber = "32"
                                    guestOS = "windows7-64"
                                    uuid.bios = "42 05 18 e1 22 13 a0 80-76 89 c0 a4 70 e2 50 72"
                                    vc.uuid = "50 05 a1 e5 1b d5 a2 88-aa 93 25 48 ee 73 cd a9"
                                    virtualHW.scheduledUpgrade.state = "none"
                                    virtualHW.scheduledUpgrade.when = "never"
                                    snapshot.action = "keep"
                                    sched.cpu.min = "0"
                                    sched.cpu.units = "mhz"
                                    sched.cpu.shares = "normal"
                                    sched.cpu.latencySensitivity = "normal"
                                    sched.mem.min = "0"
                                    sched.mem.shares = "normal"
                                    tools.upgrade.policy = "manual"
                                    replay.supported = "false"
                                    replay.filename = ""
                                    scsi0:0.redo = ""
                                    pciBridge0.pciSlotNumber = "17"
                                    pciBridge4.pciSlotNumber = "21"
                                    pciBridge5.pciSlotNumber = "22"
                                    pciBridge6.pciSlotNumber = "23"
                                    pciBridge7.pciSlotNumber = "24"
                                    scsi0.sasWWID = "50 05 05 6e a7 d8 29 b0"
                                    hostCPUID.0 = "0000000d756e65476c65746e49656e69"
                                    hostCPUID.1 = "000206d70020080017bee3ffbfebfbff"
                                    hostCPUID.80000001 = "0000000000000000000000012c100800"
                                    guestCPUID.0 = "0000000d756e65476c65746e49656e69"
                                    guestCPUID.1 = "000206d700010800969822030fabfbff"
                                    guestCPUID.80000001 = "00000000000000000000000128100800"
                                    userCPUID.0 = "0000000d756e65476c65746e49656e69"
                                    userCPUID.1 = "000206d700200800169822030fabfbff"
                                    userCPUID.80000001 = "00000000000000000000000128100800"
                                    evcCompatibilityMode = "FALSE"
                                    vmotion.checkpointFBSize = "8388608"
                                    softPowerOff = "FALSE"
                                    unity.wasCapable = "true"
                                    tools.remindInstall = "TRUE"
                                    usb:0.deviceType = "hid"
                                    usb:0.parent = "-1"
                                    usb:0.port = "0"
                                    usb:0.present = "TRUE"
                                    usb:1.deviceType = "hub"
                                    usb:1.parent = "-1"
                                    usb:1.port = "1"
                                    usb:1.present = "TRUE"
                                    usb:1.speed = "2"
                                    vmotion.checkpointSVGASize = "11534336"
                                    machine.id = "vdi.broker.dedicatedPool=1;vdi.broker.useSvi=0;vdi.broker.brokerPublicKey=MIHxMIGoBgcqhkjOOAQBMIGcAkEA/KaCzo4Syrom78z3EQ5SbbB4sF7ey80etKII864WF64B81uRpH5t9jQTxeEu0ImbzRMqzVDZkVG9xD7nN1kuFwIVAJYu3cw2nLqOuyYO5rahJtk0bjjFAkBnhHGyepz0TukaScUUfbGpqvJE8FpDTWSGkx0tFCcbnjUDC3H9c9oXkGmzLik1Yw4cIGI1TQ2iCmxBblC+eUykA0QAAkEA7z+0cM02pw00rGsvBvjxRp2ZzMYKVPnPywe9LRmSj/n6BU4ruB+Y9N1lHyIbaVZncnQGwe7oU2IaltICRlEqCg==;vdi.broker.brokers=srv003.marin.local ;vdi.broker.agentIdentity=agent/bff6ef19-a6b0-4efb-a9ea-757601ea164d;vdi.broker.itemDn=cn=bff6ef19-a6b0-4efb-a9ea-757601ea164d,ou=servers,dc=vdi,dc=vmware,dc=int;vdi.broker.agentPrivateKeyHash=1D+y7SFiFjVykr+Jh9pHxA==;vdi.broker.asyncSessionSeconds=150;vdi.broker.singleuse2=0;vdi.broker.brokerPublicKeyHash=mE3INKxE62LHyHj7ifNLfQ==;vdi.broker.msMode=ON;vdi.broker.agentPrivateKey=MIHGAgEAMIGoBgcqhkjOOAQBMIGcAkEA/KaCzo4Syrom78z3EQ5SbbB4sF7ey80etKII864WF64B81uRpH5t9jQTxeEu0ImbzRMqzVDZkVG9xD7nN1kuFwIVAJYu3cw2nLqOuyYO5rahJtk0bjjFAkBnhHGyepz0TukaScUUfbGpqvJE8FpDTWSGkx0tFCcbnjUDC3H9c9oXkGmzLik1Yw4cIGI1TQ2iCmxBblC+eUykBBYCFA4HzvAOI+8S9PXvBFruauEK5dyy;vdi.broker.disconnecttimeout=0;vdi.broker.singleuse=0;vdi.broker.useSysprep=0;vdi.broker.poolDn=cn=win7-hardware,ou=server groups,dc=vdi,dc=vmware,dc=int"
                                    svga.maxWidth = "3840"
                                    svga.maxHeight = "2400"
                                    mks.enable3d = "true"
                                    mks.use3dRenderer = "hardware"
                                    svga.numDisplays = "2"
                                    hpet0.present = "FALSE"

                                     

                                     

                                    Here's the vmx log.  trying to find the vmware.log file. its all new to me!

                                    1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next