4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2012 3:13 PM by Dthompson04

Getting My Feet Wet before the Future Passes Me by!

Dthompson04 Enthusiast

Hello to all and thank you for having such an informative place for collaboration.  I’m currently a Network Engineer and have a background in server administration so I’m only a beginner to VMware and not to IT.

I’ve watched our technology grow for over 14 years now and essentially it’s just been changes in more powerful and faster hardware as well as the number of devices and capacity.  With VMware I see this as the first real big shift in server farm architecture since leaving the big mainframes behind and now we’ve come full circle.

I can see if I sit and continue doing what I am right now that in four to six years I may not have a job or I’ll be fighting for one of the few positions left after we eventually migrate to the virtual cloud environment.  Eventually I’ll get my VMware certifications, but until then I want to get knowledge and experience.

Before posting my first questions I’ve sat back reviewing VMware and trying to compare the functionality of its components to what I’ve been working with in the past.  I’ve searched through the community and read several posts to get an understanding of how everything interrelates.

I would appreciate any help in answering the following questions.

1.  vSphere Structure!  What is the functional relationship between vSphere and ESX/ESXi?

I originally thought vSphere was the platform and ESX/ESXi was the managing interface until my research found that ESX/ESXi was the product and interface.  Is vSphere anything without ESX/ESXi?

2.  Software licenses!  I’ve read the posts on VMware/vSphere licenses, but when you create your different virtual workstation and server components I’m guessing you need the install disks and licensed copies to go with it.  What are my cost effective options for a lab?