1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2006 11:48 PM by williambishop

I've got the green light, help me sell it!

williambishop Master

It seems my offhand remarks, hints, and the appropriate application of whitepapers has moved my boss to agree to a demo of virutalization. I've been using vmware as a novice for a couple years now, and it's probably my favourite thing under the sun. I think probably 70% of our servers are viable for virtualization.

I've talked him into a vmtn subscription so I can build a beta environment(and I plan to use the workstation to program apps).

What should I be focused on, what is the "cool" and the "gotta have" things I can show him. Yes, I know the working of it gets mundane, but I want to sell him and he's a visual guy. I've sold him on a couple other projects just by the cool factor(our homegrown imaging system, enterprise wide software web site, etc). I'm not going to have the green to splurge for vmotion and all the other really neat stuff, but I desperately want to move our very large company in this direction.

So, any hints, any help, ideas, etc....Help me move the guy please. A 5000 strong company is up for grabs.

• 1. Re: I've got the green light, help me sell it!
          Champion

VMotion demo is a sure WOW!

Rapid deployment with VC Templates and or Golden Master.

Portability between dis-similar hardware.

Utilization of Physical Servers

• 2. Re: I've got the green light, help me sell it!
            sbeaver Guru
            vExpertUser Moderators

Get the demo and show off Vmotion.  It is a big selling point to the guys up stairs.

Another cool factor is once you create your golden images you can show how you can have a server up in minutes not days.