6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2011 10:05 PM by AndreTheGiant

Getting Started With VMWare Virtualization Products

BobCochran13 Novice

Hi,

I am fairly new to creating and using virtual machines, and when I look on the VMWare website, I don't see anything that will guide me in how to get started selecting VMware Virtualization products. I once used VMWare Workstation, but it was a while ago, and VMWare now seems to have a profusion of virtualization products but no real way to select one that is right for me. Is there a "getting started guide" that can help me decide on a VMware product?

I just built a server based on an Asus KGPE-D16 motherboard and one (1) AMD Opteron 6174 processor and 32 Gb of RAM. On this, I installed a Fedora 16 host, and on the host I installed VirtualBox 4.1.6. Then I installed two guests: Fedora 16 and Windows 7 Ultimate guest, both on VirtualBox. I'm not very happy with the results of this. In particular, the Windows 7 guest locks up less than a minute after logging into it, and I find that very frustrating. When researching the VirtualBox forums I see numerous posts about Windows 7 lockups.

So it seems like it might be helpful for me to experiment with a different virtualization product such as VMWare. I recall that Workstation was easy to use and only caused me a few problems. I could pass through USB and other hardware to the guests. Is this still the right product for me? My goal is to run several Fedora, Windows, and CentOS guests. I would like to learn Oracle 11G and have a guest dedicated to Oracle database.

Any suggestions are deeply appreciated.

Thanks

Bob Cochran

• 1. Re: Getting Started With VMWare Virtualization Products
          weinstein5 Guru