5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 7, 2012 12:05 AM by keiooz

Newbie...

jay49davis Lurker

Hello; I am new to the VM world, but have extensive IT experience. I am trying to carve a career niche for myself in the VM world -- not only with server virtualization, but ThinApp and Cloud expertise. In my work environment there is not much time for developing this so it will be done onmy own time.

I need a concise direction so as to maximize what little time I have after a 11 hour work day 7 days a week.

Please help! 

• 1. Re: Newbie...
          whereswaldo Lurker

I am also looking to transition my career in this direction.  Any information on specifics on how to do this would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you in advance.

• 2. Re: Newbie...
            RaZaKKaZaR Enthusiast

Hello jay49davis and whereswaldo,

I was in the same boat as you some years ago.  There is no shortcut that I am aware of, but the following tips should help you get up to speed quicker.

1. The best way to get started is with hands-on practice with Server Virtualization (leave ThinApp\View and vCloud stuff for after you get the basics down).  Download the vSphere Trial, and build your own lab:  Two ways you can go: 100% Virtual lab on VMware Workstation 8 or, if you have the budget, a HW environment built with VMware-compatible components\systems (Search Google for "vsphere whitebox").  You may want to skim blog posts and YouTube videos on how to get started.

2.  Learn from others; you don't have to go it alone.  There are MANY knowledgeable people in the VMware Community, and we love helping each other. .  You may want to check out YouTube videos, blogs, and books from Duncan Epping, Scott Lowe, and many other vExperts out there.  Sometimes, they even respond to questions that you post to their web sites.