VMware Cloud Community
vmproteau
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ISCSI or Fiber Channel

I understand the basics of this argument and although it is as much a religious debate as anything else, I'm looking for guidance on a new environment.Our environment has always been Fiber Channel and I have limited experience with ISCSI. I'm designing a new environment and I think the nature of the proposed migration will dictate NOT changing from what we know and use successfully.

That being said, I am tyring to envision what an ISCSI solution might look like. In our case it would be an HP (Lefthand) P4000. Here are some environment estimates. I realize determinations can't be made solely on this information but, I wonder if any of these make one better or rules one out.

• 20-30-Hosts
  • 1000-2000 VMs
  • 200TB storage
  • Workload and application profiles generally unknown
  • Multi-site SAN replication-potentially SRM
  • Possible Cisco Nexus
  • Possible VMWare View VDI
  • Possible vCloud Director and vCloud Service Request Manager
  • There will also be a physical server presence for high end DB servers etc.

In all likllihood we would have both at some point. Then production server workloads could be moved over and tested thoroughly to make these determinations. I just can't see a complete forklift move to new technologies in either direction.

0 Kudos
7 Replies
mlubinski
Expert
Expert

i think that iSCSI would work very good for your plan. as far as I know p4000 has already VAAI support, so you could easily place 100 VM's on one lun (thus reducing management overhead), so you would end up with 20 datastores Smiley Happy

would you have it (hosts) placed in one rack or splitted between multiple racks? Do you plan to use 1Gbit or 10Gbit network?

[I]If you found this or any other answer useful please consider the use of the Helpful or correct buttons to award points[/I]
0 Kudos
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal