VMware Cloud Community
tlyczko
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

When should the vMA be installed??

Before or after installing ESXi to any of our servers??

Obviously I'm STILL learning about ESXi.

Thank you, Tom

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

for us, we use vMA almost exclusively as our syslog server for ESXi.  If you don't have a syslog server, this may be a good reason to deploy vMA

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
bulletprooffool
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

vMA is not required for ESXi to function and won't offer much help until ESXi is installed.

As such, ESX(i) first.

It is also not a core tool, but rather something you use to extend your administration toolset. I know many admins who never bother installing one at all and get along OK without.

further info at : http://www.vmware.com/support/developer/vima/

One day I will virtualise myself . . .
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

for us, we use vMA almost exclusively as our syslog server for ESXi.  If you don't have a syslog server, this may be a good reason to deploy vMA

0 Kudos
tlyczko
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Isn't vMA required for PowerShell etc.??

I haven't determined whether to use vMA or Kiwi for ESX syslogging...comments anyone??

Thank you, Tom

0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

no, vMA is not required for PowerCLI.  As for a syslog server, We tried Kiwi, for us, it was just a bit easier to use vMA, plus vMA is free

Gleed
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Hi,

I recommend installing vMA first.  It's usually the first thing I setup when upgrading from a classic ESX environment to ESXi.  Using the OVF makes installing it a no-brainer.