VMware Cloud Community
wb2
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

FT won't enable for vm

I just tried turning on Fault Tolerance on one of my virtual machines.  It's a single processor, 6gb ram.  We're running ESXi 4.1 with 2 hosts.

I get this error:

Insufficient resources to satisfy configured failover level for HA.

Anyone know why?  It's the first machine I've attempted to set FT on.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
21 Replies
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

With 2 Hosts, you may want to set you admission control level to % of... instead of Host failures.  How is your Admission control policy setup for HA?

0 Kudos
wb2
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Host failures cluster tolerates: 1

0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

try using % instead, and see what happens.

0 Kudos
wb2
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

What exactly is the difference?  I've never used the % before.  What do you recommend for a number.  It's set to 25% right now but greyed out.

0 Kudos
Troy_Clavell
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Percentage based admission control uses a more flexible mechanism.  It accumulates all reservations and subtracts it from the total amount  of available resources while making sure the specified spare capacity is  always available.

http://www.yellow-bricks.com/vmware-high-availability-deepdiv/

However, if it's greyed out, you may have admission control disabled, is that the case?  I would use the default 25%

0 Kudos
jjkrueger
VMware Employee
VMware Employee
Jump to solution

Changing your HA cluster settings to a Percentage Reserved will likely resolve the problem, as Troy said.  With a 2-host cluster, I'd set the reservation to 50%, just to ensure failover capacity.

What you're running into is a combination of the nature of HA capacity planning when using the Number of Host Failures Tolerated option and the way FT works.