1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 12, 2010 11:21 PM by AndreTheGiant

DCD Beta Exam Experience

Pete7 Lurker

Sure, it was just a beta, but it cost me $200 so I feel entitled to opine

The bad... there's a bunch :

- Errors in terminology. For example, "set option A" appears in the GUI, "set option A and tell it to do B on a regular basis" might appear. The "tell it to do option B" is entirely redundant and throws you for a loop. Kinda makes you wonder if you've been missing something for years.

- At least one question which has a typo and is so grammatically incorrect I couldn't work out what the question actually was. There's a bunch of grammatical issues in general. Put it this way, if I studied for the next week and took the exam again, I still wouldn't know the answer as the original question was so poorly phrased. This isn't a "throw irrelevant info at the candidate to confuse them" phrasing, just poorly phrased all round.

- No "back" button or ability to mark questions for review. This is a nightmare. The way I do exams is run through once and answer the questions I know immediately and don't have to think about. Anything else gets marked for review. This way I know how many questions which will take some time, figure out how much time is left and allocate the time accordingly. Without a back button and not knowing how many case study type questions there are this makes time management impossible.

- Speaking of time management, it would be much easier if the exam was split into two parts - multiple choice and case-study type items. If not split into 2 parts, at least let us know how many of each type of question we're going to get.

- The Visio style questions... still not quite sure what should have been a container and what needed a link created. And screen size... I gave up on one Visio question altogether because I just couldn't fit it all on the screen in a decipherable fashion.