VMware Cloud Community
Highspeedlane
Contributor
Contributor

Data Store Disk Size

Hello. I am very new with all this so any assistance is greatly appreciated. We are using VSphere ESXi 4.1 and VSphere client.

On the server we are using, I have 2 groups of three 600 Gb drives in a raid 5, so after raid they are effectively about 1.2 Tb each.

On this server, I want to run two instances of Windows. There are two data stores created now, using all the available disk space within each raid group (so they show about 1.09 Tb each datastore).

I would like to assign 750 Gb in one datastore to a Windows instance, but that leaves approximately 350 Gb left doing nothing. I would like to use that 350 Gb for the other datastore.

I don't seem to be able to increase the datastore to use the left over 350 Gb from the other datastore. Is this possible? Thanks for your help.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
WessexFan
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

If you right click on your DataCenter in vcenter, and choose "Rescan for Datastores", select Scan for new storage devices and scan for new vmfs volumes", do you see your ~350gb presented when choosing "Add a new datastore"?

VCP5-DCV, CCNA Data Center
0 Kudos
pcerda
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

If you have created the datastores using the max size of disk array, so you cannot extend the datastores.

If you have created a VM on each datastore, using just 750GB for virtual disks, so you have about 350GB free to create new virtual disks and new VMs into that datastore.

You cannot expand a datastore using the free space of another datastore. One approach that might be useful is to extend the first datastore in order to join to the second datastore and get one big datastore. In order to accomplish this, the second disk array must be clean (none VMFS datastore created).

Remember you must to create just one datastore for each disk array or LUN.

Regards / Saludos

-

Patricio Cerda !http://www.images.wisestamp.com/linkedin.png!

VMware VCP-410