VMware Cloud Community
nkv
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

ESX 3.5 connected to NAS

Hi Everyone,

I am new to ESX connected to NAS box. In our environment ESX 3.5 connected to FAS 2000/3000 and in the VC the data store shows as "NFS" type.

We have 2 nics going from esx to nas boxes and 2 other nics for ethernet communication.

Some of the information i need help in finding is are given below (Could not get much help from storage team for information)

Question 1: What could be backgrond connectivity configuration - lmost probably the cable connected to nics directly goes through a switch and to NAS box or does it has to go through a ethernet switch (like in SAN environment we have fiber switches in between esx and storage).

I am looking for physical switch model that we can use here

Question 2: Is there any configuration required on the host side to connect to NAS box other then creating vmkernel switch at the host level

Question 3: Can you name some of the physical switches that are used for connectivity between ESX and NAS

Any info would be much appriciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
2 Replies
weinstein5
Immortal
Immortal

Question 1: What could be backgrond connectivity configuration - lmost probably the cable connected to nics directly goes through a switch and to NAS box or does it has to go through a ethernet switch (like in SAN environment we have fiber switches in between esx and storage).
I am looking for physical switch model that we can use here

NAS uses an Ethernet network so it has to be an ethernet switch - for redundant connectivity I would suggest two ethernet switches -

Question 2: Is there any configuration required on the host side to connect to NAS box other then creating vmkernel switch at the host level

If you are running ESX the service console will need to be able to get to NAS device -

Question 3: Can you name some of the physical switches that are used for connectivity between ESX and NAS

Any one who makes an Ethernet switch - HP, Cisco, etc.