VMware Communities
Steve24by7
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Cant boot into safe mode

I want to boot my XP Professional to safe mode on my Macbook Pro (I am a newbie to mac, doing Migrate my PC). I tried to use Virtual Machines->Send Key->F8 during the WinXP splash screen a few times, but that didnt work. I disabled all keystroke mappings on the Macbook but no joy. Thanks in advance.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

I want to boot my XP Professional to safe mode on my Macbook Pro (I am a newbie to mac, doing Migrate my PC). I tried to use Virtual Machines->Send Key->F8 during the WinXP splash screen a few times, but that didnt work. I disabled all keystroke mappings on the Macbook but no joy.

Hitting F8 on the splash screen is too late. You'll want to click in the VM window at POST and hold the fn key (lower left corner) then type F8 a few times. This is unless you've changed your OS X System Preferences in Keyboard "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys", then you would just type F8. The default setting requires VM focus and typing fn-F8.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
rcardona2k
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

I want to boot my XP Professional to safe mode on my Macbook Pro (I am a newbie to mac, doing Migrate my PC). I tried to use Virtual Machines->Send Key->F8 during the WinXP splash screen a few times, but that didnt work. I disabled all keystroke mappings on the Macbook but no joy.

Hitting F8 on the splash screen is too late. You'll want to click in the VM window at POST and hold the fn key (lower left corner) then type F8 a few times. This is unless you've changed your OS X System Preferences in Keyboard "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys", then you would just type F8. The default setting requires VM focus and typing fn-F8.

0 Kudos
Steve24by7
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution