VMware Communities
LAIT
Contributor
Contributor

Installing windows server 2008 r2 on windows vista

Hi there,

Im new to the concept of vmware.

I have Vmware workstation and im working on windows vista what i need is to install windows server 2008 on it.Is that possible?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
21 Replies
Luckybob
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

It is possible to install Windows 2008 R2, but there are some issue with it. For the best results, I would recommend not installing the VMtools. There are some other work around for different issues, but in my personal experience, not installing the tools makes it functional.

0 Kudos
okonita
Contributor
Contributor

<!1. >Luckybob,

I am relatively new to VMware and windows server 2008 R2 on Windows Vista. I am in the process of installing Win server 2008 r2 and I am curious to know what issues have you found with VMTools on Win server 2008 r2?

Thanks

0 Kudos
LAIT
Contributor
Contributor

I downloaded Windows server 2008 r2 ISO file from microsoft and im trying to install it but its not working.

It load the files. Then when i click install a message appear.

A required CD/DVD drive device driver is missing. If you have a driver floppy disk, CD, DVD or usb flash drive, please insert it now.

I tried everything, from mounting an image using daemond tools, making two CDs one phisical and the other one is the ISO image but its not working.

when i click ok another message appear.

No Device drivers were found. Make sure that the installation media contains the correct drivers, and then click ok.

Any ideas?

0 Kudos
continuum
Immortal
Immortal

which guestOS did you select ?

try with

guestOS = "longhorn-64"

VMX-parameters- VMware-liveCD - VM-Sickbay

0 Kudos
LAIT
Contributor
Contributor

Yes i already selected Windows Server 2008 x64 edition although im installing Windows Server 2008 R2 which by the way is not in the Vmware guest OS.