VMware Communities
Grogan
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Linux Vmware Workstation 6.5.1 Cannot install on a system with KVM enabled

I am trying to install Workstation 6.5.1 using the .bundle. Of course, KVM is not enabled. I have never enabled that in my kernel. I cannot tell what the installer is looking for, or I'd try to mitigate it.

I have searched around here and I can't find any information on this problem (I am assuming the search is working correctly but I find it hard to believe that I can't find any info on KVM in discussions here)

I have tried running the installer with the -I switch to ignore script errors, but it doesn't ignore that condition. I know for a fact that I do not have KVM enabled in kernel or as a module so if I can somehow bypass that check all should be well.

I have been using VMware workstation for several years and 6.0.x works on this system. No, it's not a "supported system". I don't expect extensive support, just a clue.

Can anyone tell me what condition the installer is barfing on, how it's checking for the KVM driver, or how I can debug this? I really don't want to stick with Workstation 6.0.x because I want to use a newer kernel than it supports. I also want to run a Windows 7 guest, and the Vmware SVGA II driver doesn't work.

Currently I have tried this with Linux 2.6.23.17 and Linux 2.6.26.8 but I don't think that matters at this stage of the installation. I accept the Eula, I click next when prompted for the path to Eclipse (I dont' have it) then it tells me it's ready to install. I click Install and I am instantly presented with "You cannot install on a system with KVM enabled" and it aborts.

Here is the contents of /var/log/vmware-installer:

Using UI type gtk

Opening database file /etc/vmware/database

destination /tmp/tmpL4hOHe/.installer/__init__.py already exists, overwriting.

Top level exception handler

Traceback (most recent call last):