VMware Cloud Community
jockmcgonzo
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

can't delete .vmdk file on Datastore

Hello,

In my new company i've inherited an ESX server which runs some virtual server2003 machines stored on a SAN Datastore.

As i investigated more i discovered that is was running short of space, after using the browse function i discovered that there were some 'leftover' .vmdk files which the browser couldn't delete and which are taking up a fair amount of space.

Does anyone have any ideas what i can do to remove these files. I have tried using SCP but only know the root password which comes back as denied.

Please bear in mind when answering that i am new to VMWare ESX so may need step by steps.

Thanks to anyone who can help.

Tags (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
aldikan
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Hi,

I would also highly recommend this free tool from VEEAM:

This will allow you to check/set permissions on leftover vmdk files.

Please check your existing VMs and make sure that no VMs are using any of those vmdk files, as it is a possibility.

Alex

(Please rate this or other answers if helpful)

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Cameron2007
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

from Virtual Center you should be able to browse to the datastores by selecting Datastores view. Once you open this you will see a Command to Browse Datastores once you go to that you will see thevmdks and by selecting on the required one you should be able to delete them. Alternatively use SSH (Putty) to connect to an ESX host and get to the required datastore by cd /vmfs/volumes/path to vmdk then using the standard commands to delete the vmdk there

aldikan
Hot Shot
Hot Shot
Jump to solution

Hi,

This will allow you to check/set permissions on leftover vmdk files.

Please check your existing VMs and make sure that no VMs are using any of those vmdk files, as it is a possibility.

Alex

(Please rate this or other answers if helpful)

jockmcgonzo