VMware Cloud Community
tonygent
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Code format in examples

As a complete Newb to the whole powershell scripting element, I'm deeeeply confused by the lack of clarity with the code snippets often shown.

Once downloading a snippet of code from the forums or the VMware examples pages, I then have to spend 30 mins 'deciphering' the code to figure out where the carridge returns are surposed to go? And often when the code is 'actually doing'

For some reason, all the code in the little boxes does not state when a new line is required. A good example would be :

Get-Cluster -Name | Get-VMHost -State "Connected" | %{ $esx = Get-View $_.ID $optmgrMoRef = $esx.configManager.advancedOption $optmgr = Get-View $optmgrMoRef $optarray = $optmgr.QueryOptions("LVM.Enableresignature") $optarray[0].Value = 1 $optmgr.UpdateOptions($optarray) }

This code, found on the forums here, just does not work if patsted into notepad and run! I believe there should be a selection of new lines starting at the creation of the variables. But for those of use not yet familiar with the structure if the code it takes ages to figure this out. Below is my deciphered element of the same code :

Connect-VIServer $strVC

$oCluster = Get-Cluster -name $strCLUSTER

write-host $oCluster

$oHosts = $oCluster | Get-VMHost -state "Connected"

Foreach ($ohost in $oHosts)

{

Echo $oHost.Name

$esx = Get-View $oHost.ID

$optmgrMoRef = $esx.configManager.advancedOption

$optmgr = Get-View $optmgrMoRef

$optarray = $optmgr.QueryOptions("LVM.Enableresignature")

$optarray[0].Value = 1

$optmgr.UpdateOptions($optarray)

}

A lot of the code I've tried to download from these forums just does not work unless it's 're-jigged' with new line spaces. Is this a problem with my browser - or are others having the same issue??

I'm using notepad.exe as my main scripting app - is there another app I should be using that perhaps makes these changes for me?