1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2008 5:03 PM by wharlie

Add local users to multiple servers

conradsia Hot Shot

I am looking to add some local users and I want to see if this can be done with powershell. I am completely new to powershell so I am looking for some direction. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Add local users to multiple servers
          LucD Guru
          vExpertCommunity WarriorsUser Moderators

Where do you want to add these local users?

To the ESX servers or to servers running as guests ?

Blog: http://lucd.info | Twitter: @LucD22 | PowerCLI Reference co-author: http://tinyurl.com/hkn4glz
          • 2. Re: Add local users to multiple servers
            halr9000 Master

Do you have a virtual center server or not?  The answer affects how you work with multiple servers (but it can be done either way).

Author of the upcoming book: Managing VMware Infrastructure with PowerShell

Co-Host, PowerScripting Podcast (http://powerscripting.net)

• 3. Re: Add local users to multiple servers
              Enthusiast

If you are looking to add local users to ESX servers, there is a cmdlets called 'New-VMHostAccount' that can help you do that.

Unfortunately there is no cmdlet for VC.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Add local users to multiple servers
                Master

You could probably use something like Quest's Active Directory cmdlets to, for lack of a better way of describing it, "add users to VirtualCenter", assuming that you use Active Directory with VC.

• 5. Re: Add local users to multiple servers
                  conradsia Hot Shot

Hello,