VMware Cloud Community
santomaurob
Contributor
Contributor

vSwitch NIC Teaming Issue

Hello everyone. I kind of ran into weird issue here. I work in a school district. We have a 3 node vSphere cluster. The nodes are Dell R740 servers. Each server has two SFP+ built-in Intel X710 ports. We also have 2 Intel X710 SFP+ cards installed in each host. We recently setup vMotion as well as properly setup the iSCSI traffic to go out over the 10GB connections. The last thing I was trying to do was switch the VM Client traffic from going out the management port and have it go out two of the 10GB SFP+ ports.

On each host I created a standard vSwitch that has two active 10GB physical nics attached to it. The teaming mode is set to “Route based on originating virtual port”. The vlans I am trying to trunk through these connections is vlan 6 and 10. Now in the server room at the HS we have an MDF access switch stack and our core switch stack. Switches are Alcatel. The two 10 GB connections for host 1 are connected to switch 1 and 2 of our mdf access switch. The other two hosts have each of their 10 GB connections going into switch 1 and 2 of our core switch. The MDF access switched is trunked into the Core Switch. I made sure that each port is configured for 802.1q tagging of the vlans above.