VM Network - No option for Bridge, NAT or Host Only option in ESXi 6.0 U3

Hi Team,
I am new to the VMware ESXi. 
Hardware:
Dell PowerEdge T610
CPU 8 CPUs x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5560 @ 2.80GHz
Memory 31.98 GB
VMware vSphere 6 Hypervisor - DellEMC Customized Image ESXi 6.0 Update 3 A15
The ESXi assigned with a static local IP for management network. But couldn't see the option to assign the IP address for the VM I have created with Packetfence ZEN OVF file. 
https://www.packetfence.org/download.html#/zen
How to assign the IP address for the VMs in the ESXi 6.0 U3?
Regards,
Thirunavukkarasu

0 Kudos
5 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

ESXi is not the same as Workstation (where you get options such as NAT or Bridged)

ESXi uses virtual switches, the physical NIC functions as an uplink port to connect a virtual switch to a physical one, there are port groups within the virtual switch to give connectivity to VMs and to the ESXi VMkernel too.

It’s up to you to provide all network functions such as DHCP for providing IP addresses, and DNS for name resolution.

This should help: https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphere/7.0/com.vmware.vsphere.networking.doc/GUID-35B40B0B-0C13-4...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
drthiruna
Contributor
Contributor

Hi 

Thanks for the immediate reply

As you replied, the ESXi will not support assignment of static IP address to the VMs, correct? Is this limitation only in ESXi 6.0 U3 or in latest versions of ESXi?

My requirement is installing a packetfence ZEN on a VM as described below. 

https://www.packetfence.org/doc/PacketFence_Installation_Guide.html#_installing_packetfence_from_the...

4.1. Installing PacketFence from the ZEN