VMware Cloud Community
labiol
Contributor
Contributor

Maximum speed for e1000 network card.

Situation:

* two HP blade server with FLEX (10Gbps) ethernet card ESXi 5u1.

* three virtual windows 2008 systems, e1000 network card

Last time I studied performance tab and network statistics on vCenter. The performance for network card was above 1Gbps. It was interested for me, because all my servers has e1000 (1Gb) network card installed

I made some test (using lan_speed-test and perfmon) and I discovered that the network card works a lot above 1Gbps.

I get above 5Gbps for os, when the windows works on the same ESXi server and about 2Gbps for windows placed on different ESXi (which is expected because my production network is limited to 2Gbps on flex card).

But the general question is, why I can get above 1Gbps network speed on e1000 card.

Regards

Kris

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership

This is the expected behavious, the advertised speed of the vNIC is not relevant since the transfer will be done in memory (on the same ESX) and over the 10G pNICS on different hosts.

// Linjo

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".
0 Kudos
labiol
Contributor
Contributor

So why the e1000 card is presented in operating system as 1Gb card and vmxnet3 as 10Gb card? Why Windows can use the 1Gb card with graeter speed. I undarstand that ESX can use full hardware/physical network card power but there is no limit in the operating system? Or it's because of vmtools?

0 Kudos
iw123
Commander
Commander

Hi,

This might be worth a read for you i f you haven't come across it already: http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=100180...

There are other dfferences between the virtual adaptor types other than speed such as support for jumbo frames etc.