VMware Cloud Community
NotANumber
Contributor
Contributor

How to Add Multiple Port Groups to Single VM Kernel Adapter

I am a total noob when it comes to vmware networking and need assistance please.

I need to configure some new esxi hosts recently added to an existing cluster. I need to add the required ports groups to the single vmkernel adapter in use. Every time I try to add any port group/network it just adds it as new vm adapter and I have tried several different ways following various articles but now I just find myself going down a rabbit hole. All other hosts in the cluster networking goes through the single vm adapter and not sure how this is done.

I have attached an image from a configured host where its networking is only on the single vm adapter, this is what I trying to configure for the new hosts.

NotANumber_0-1610441073065.png

0 Kudos
7 Replies
scott28tt
VMware Employee
VMware Employee

@NotANumber 

To be clear, that's not a "single vmkernel adapter" - it's a port group on a vSphere Distributed Switch that is being used by the vmkernel on one existing host (rather than by VMs).

The logic and terminology is the opposite of the way you describe it - vmkernel ports are associated with the port group (in your case dvp_int_mgmt_XXX), either in a 1:1 or Many:1 fashion.

And it sounds like you have new hosts that you would also like their vmkernel ports to be associated with the same port group.

I haven't done this for a long time, but you should be able to do this on those hosts either when creating a new vmkernel port on them or there is an option to migrate your existing vmkernel ports.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Although I am a VMware employee I contribute to VMware Communities voluntarily (ie. not in any official capacity)
VMware Training & Certification blog
0 Kudos
Lalegre
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hey @NotANumber,