VMware Cloud Community
Jaikudo
Contributor
Contributor

How do I separate networks (DMZ for mail server) on vSphere/Esxi5?

Hi guys,

I am trying to plan and get our Mail server on a separate network and i am kind of stuck as I am no expert in ESXi or vSphere.

To give you guys a quick walkthrough: At the moment our mail server isn't accessible from outside. The company wants the email server on the Internet for many reasons so now I have to do something like having it in DMZ.

Our setup:

We have 2 HP DL380 G6 hosts with ESXi 5 (Essential plus)

1 HP SAN (No redundancy, but might add one in future if can)

2 physical switches for the hosts and SAN

Draytek 3200 Firewall/VPN

All servers are virtual including proxy (Squid)

No Vlan setup anywhere

--

On ESXi configuration there are two standard vSwitches - vsw0 and vsw1 (we only have 4 physical nics each, which are using for reduduncy as well. See screenshots)

My plan:

is to have the mail server on a different subnet than our LAN and have it on the Internet using our current Draytek Firewall Router or a separate one.

Our mail server will then only be allowed few ports from the internet and will not allow to access LAN, but LAN will be able to pull emails server.

What I would like:

is to create another vswitch or vlan so I can have mail server on that vswitch and rest of LAN on the one we have currently.

Is this possible? I know it is with distributed but we dont have enterprise plus.

I have attached the screenshots of config to give you guys an idea.

I am having a feeling i would require additional physical NICs on both ESXi hosts.. but does that mean need some additional expansion card for DL380 g6?

Thanks.

Screenshots:

Network Adapters:

Network adapt-vs1.PNG

Networking:

Networking-vs1.PNG

vSwitch0 Properties:

vsw0-vs1.PNG

vSwitch0 Network Adpt:

vsw0-net-vs1.PNG

vSwitch1 Properties:

vsw1-vs1.PNG

vSwitch1 Network Adpt:

vsw1-net-vs1.PNG

vSwitch 1 iSCSI 1 Properties:

vsw1-iscsi1-vs1.PNG