VMware Cloud Community
dratz
Contributor
Contributor

Bond NICs on Cisco Switch

I am just getting started with vSphere and ESXi, and would like to bond the two NICs on my host for redundancy and aggregation, but I'm confused with all the info for setting up the ports on my cisco switch. I'm using ESXi v 4.1.0,348481 and my switch is a Cisco 2960G.

On the switch I have set the EtherChannel Load-Balancing Configuration to be src-dst-ip. I have added two ports to the Channel-Group 1 and set channel-group 1 mode on. When I do show etherchannel protocol, I see that Group 1 has protocol PAgP instead of <Mode ON>. Is this correct?  This document http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=100404... shows the protocol as <Mode ON> so I am uncertain.

On the vCentre Client I changed the NIC teaming to Route based on ip hash as per the above document.

Is this correct? Is the PAgP on the switch OK or is there something I need to do to get it to show <Mode On> ??

Thanks,

Doug

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Josh26
Virtuoso
Virtuoso

Hi,

Can you show us all the relevant sections of your config for the physical ports and the port-group?

0 Kudos
dratz
Contributor
Contributor

Is this what you need? See attached screen shot.

Doug

0 Kudos
RBurns-WIS
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

PAgP is a Cisco proprietary aggregation protocol.  ESX doesn't speak PAgP or LACP for that matter.

You should be using mode "on".   You've pasted your Port channel config, can you also paste the output of:

show run int gi0/25

show run int gi0/26

Thanks,

Robert

0 Kudos
dratz
Contributor
Contributor

Attached it the show run of the two ports. If I configure the port 25 and/or 26 with the command

channel-group 1 mode on

I don't get any error message, but the group doesn't change from PAgP to ON. A show etherchannel summary still shows it as PAgP.

Is this a limitation on my switch, a catalyst 2960? Or am I missing a command(s) ?

Doug

0 Kudos
depping