VMware Cloud Community
BertP
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

A Couple of Newbie Questions

As the subject indicates, I am new to ESXi.  I have it running but I have 2 questions that I can't find answers for (I'm probably looking in the worng places for the answers);

1) When I connect to the ESXi host, I am prompted telling me that the evaluation license will expire in 60 days.  I have a license (the free ESXi license) but I cannot find any place to provide it to the host from within vSphere.  How do I apply it so that it stops prompting me and, more importantly, doesn't expire in 60 days?  The link on the prompt just takes me to a web page where I can download an eval copy of ESXi - which is kind of odd.

2) The machine I have ESXi runnin on has 3 nics; one on the motherboard and two in expansion slots.  But, ESXi only recognizes one of them.  I assume that this is a driver issue but I cannot firgure out where I get the drivers from or how I install them.  Can this be done from within vSphere or do I have to do it from the console?  I didn't see anywhere in the console that would allow me to install drivers, either.

Thanks

Bert

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

1)

1. Log in to the ESX/ESXi host using vSphere Client.
  2. Click the Configuration Tab.
  3. Click Licensed Features under Software.
  4. Click Edit under Licensed Features.
  5. Select Assign a new license key to this host.
  6. Press Enter and enter the License Key.
  7. Click OK.

2) 95% of the time, if its not recognized, there isn't a driver and you need a supported card.  What is the exact make and model of the cards that are no showing up?

--Matt VCDX #52 blog.cowger.us

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
20 Replies
mcowger
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

1)

1. Log in to the ESX/ESXi host using vSphere Client.
  2. Click the Configuration Tab.
  3. Click Licensed Features under Software.