VMware Cloud Community
lefty29er
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

vSphere ISO won't boot

Hello,

I'm attempting to install vsphere on a new system with a Gigabyte GA-X58A mobo and I'm not getting too far at this point.....  The situation is that that when I try to boot from the DVD that contains the esxi iso, nothing happens.  I have a blinking prompt, no screen change, nada.  I'm able to boot a Win7 disk from the same machine and I'm also able to load the esxi iso (mounted from the disk) into a windows VM and boot.  So I've confirmed the esxi iso is functional and that the system with the Gigabyte board will boot a dvd but i'm at a loss for anything further.  I'm a virtualization noob (if that isn't obvious enough already :smileylaugh:) and would appreciate any input from the more experienced.

Thanks,

Lefty29er

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

You will need to find a piece of software to burn the image to the CD/DVD. Copying the ISO file won't work. Check with the software you made the DVD with to see whether there is an option to "Burn an Image". If not there are lots of freeware tools that you can download. A google search for Burn ISO image should turn up lots.

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

You will need to find a piece of software to burn the image to the CD/DVD. Copying the ISO file won't work. Check with the software you made the DVD with to see whether there is an option to "Burn an Image". If not there are lots of freeware tools that you can download. A google search for Burn ISO image should turn up lots.

0 Kudos
lefty29er
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Thanks very much for the info, that did the trick.  So I guess I'm a total noob to burning disks too :smileyblush:.  I'm off to work on the errors that are popping up on the screen now.  It's all about the experience!