VMware Cloud Community
kcorum
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

upgrade esx 4.0 to esx 4.1 with update manager

I am trying to update esx hosts 4.0 to esx 4.1. The documentation i have read says that you can do it with update manager in vCenter server. I am new to vmware/esx/vCenter and just installed esx 4 a few months ago. I am following the directions in the vCenter Update Manager Administration Guide. I have already updated vCenter Server to 4.1 and the guide is for version 4.1. At the top of page 90, the instructions say to open Update Manager and then choose the tab which says "Host Upgrade Releases". I do not see this as an option. When I open Update Manager I see the following tabs: Getting Started, Baselines and Groups, Configuration, Events, Patch Repository and that is it. What am I missing? I've been reading about this upgrade to 4.1 for the past week and have been following the upgrade guide from 4.0 to 4.1. I would like to upload the zip upgrade that I download from vmware but have not idea how to get it into Update Manager. Please help.

Thanks,

Kristi

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
admin
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Which version of update manager are you using? It should be 4.1 for upgrading ESX hosts from 4.0 to 4.1

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Take a look at http://www.vmguru.nl/wordpress/2010/07/how-to-upgrade-to-vsphere-4-1/. It explains the upgrade step-by-step.

André

ashleymilne
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Andre, it explains the upgrade process, but it glosses over this part:

"Run the Pre-upgrade package for ESX 4.0 to ESX 4.1 before you upgrade from ESX 4.0 to ESX 4.1 using esxupdate or vihostupdate"

Which is very unhelpful as those of us who do not know how to use esxupdate or vihostupdate are left scratching our heads.