VMware Cloud Community
tkongpachith
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

"Unable to save IP settings" - vCenter Server Appliance version 7.0 Update 1 Issue

Hello,

I am fairly new to the VMware product and the installation of vCenter.

- I have followed all VMware documentation, links, discussion posts, and YouTube videos on how to install and configure the vCenter Server appliance on a Windows machine.

- I currently have a Windows 2016 64-bit test virtual machine stood up in our ESXi Host environment.

- I downloaded the vSphere / vCenter Server ISO trial version 7.0 update 1 to that test Windows 2016 machine.

This is my current workflow process of this installation/configuration:

1. Have configured and enabled the ntpd in the ESXi host to run + configured in my Windows 2016 machine to point to the NTP server under Date and Time settings > Internet Time.

2. Created a DNS A-record of the hostname and IP I want to use for the appliance.

3. Mounted the ISO onto the Windows machine's C:\ drive and open the directories to the ui-installer folder.

4. Located the installer.exe file and ran the installer.

5. Selected the option for "Install a new vCenter Server" + accepted the EULA.

6. Entered our ESXi host target server name/IP, HTTPS port, root credentials.

7. Then Accepted the certificate warning for our ESXi host.

8. Enter the VM name, set the root password + confirmed the password for the appliance.

9. Selected Tiny for deployment size and storage size as default.

10. We only have one datastore present in our ESXi host, so it selected the datastore by default and I proceeded to the next step.

11.  For the network settings for the appliance, chose VM network, IPv4, static, entered the FQDN of what the appliance will refer to, set an IP address that was correlated to the DNS A-record I created at the beginning, set the subnet mask and default gateway, left the default HHTP and HTTPS ports.