Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

do i create a datastore for every physical disk or add the extra disk space to the existing datastore?

Jump to solution

I am a newbie in this subject so please take it easy on me.  I have vsphere esxi hyper-v 6.7 on a dell poweredge r620 server with 4 - 500gb sas drives.  I couldn't configure the raid properly so they're just individual hdd's.  I have  1 datastore from drive0, but the other drives nothing.  do i create a datastore for every physical disk or is it better to add the extra disk space to the existing datastore?

I'm using this for CCNA/CCNP lab topologies.  Any suggestions?  Thanks for your anticipated answers. 

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

You can expand an existing datastore by adding another physical disk as an extent. But this is not recommended.

Looks  like you have a fake raid controller - thats probably why you see several disks instead of one raid array.

For now I would suggest you create additional datastores using the existing physical disks.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

"Did you find this helpful? Let us know by completing this survey (takes 1 minute!)"

Do you need support with a recovery problem ? - call me via skype "sanbarrow"

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Highlighted
Immortal
Immortal

You can expand an existing datastore by adding another physical disk as an extent. But this is not recommended.

Looks  like you have a fake raid controller - thats probably why you see several disks instead of one raid array.

For now I would suggest you create additional datastores using the existing physical disks.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________