VMware Cloud Community
procommtech4221
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

do i create a datastore for every physical disk or add the extra disk space to the existing datastore?

I am a newbie in this subject so please take it easy on me.  I have vsphere esxi hyper-v 6.7 on a dell poweredge r620 server with 4 - 500gb sas drives.  I couldn't configure the raid properly so they're just individual hdd's.  I have  1 datastore from drive0, but the other drives nothing.  do i create a datastore for every physical disk or is it better to add the extra disk space to the existing datastore?

I'm using this for CCNA/CCNP lab topologies.  Any suggestions?  Thanks for your anticipated answers. 

Tags (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
continuum
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

You can expand an existing datastore by adding another physical disk as an extent. But this is not recommended.

Looks  like you have a fake raid controller - thats probably why you see several disks instead of one raid array.

For now I would suggest you create additional datastores using the existing physical disks.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

"Did you find this helpful? Let us know by completing this survey (takes 1 minute!)"

View solution in original post

6 Replies
continuum
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

You can expand an existing datastore by adding another physical disk as an extent. But this is not recommended.

Looks  like you have a fake raid controller - thats probably why you see several disks instead of one raid array.

For now I would suggest you create additional datastores using the existing physical disks.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

"Did you find this helpful? Let us know by completing this survey (takes 1 minute!)"

a_p_