VMware Cloud Community
srwsol
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

William Lam's Maclearn now part of ESXi (causes dependency check on updates)?

Hi folks:

I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this question or not, but I've been using William Lam's maclearn vib for a couple of years now because I have a VM that runs OpenVPN in bridge mode, and that needs promiscuous mode.  As with the nested ESXi situation that he wrote maclearn to address, this causes excessive CPU usage on that VM if there is lots of traffic on the virtual switch.  Because of that when I did updates I had to use "software profile update" instead of "software profile install" so that the maclearn vib didn't get removed. 

I was going through the dry-run of updating to 6.5d and it failed with a dependency check:

[root@naplesesxi:~] esxcli software profile update --dry-run --depot=/vmfs/volumes/539b4dcd-0d43b62e-2a98-e840f2d1736d/Upgrades/ESXi650-201704001

.zip --profile=ESXi-6.5.0-20170404001-standard

[DependencyError]

File path of '/usr/lib/vmware/vmkmod/dvfilter-maclearn' is claimed by multiple non-overlay VIBs: {'VMware_bootbank_vmware-esx-dvfilter-maclearn_1.00-1.00', 'VMware_bootbank_esx-dvfilter-maclearn_6.5.0-0.0.4282379'}

File path of '/usr/libexec/jumpstart/plugins/dvfilter-maclearn.json' is claimed by multiple non-overlay VIBs: {'VMware_bootbank_vmware-esx-dvfilter-maclearn_1.00-1.00', 'VMware_bootbank_esx-dvfilter-maclearn_6.5.0-0.0.4282379'}

Please refer to the log file for more details.