VMware Cloud Community
Joe51
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Virtual Appliance or Windows Based Server

I'm really new to VMWare and have inherited a VCenter/VSphere environment.

I reviewed some installation materials I found on the website, but I would like to know how do I determine if VCenter is installed as the Virual Appliance or on a Windows Based Server in my environment?  When I login with the vSphere client I see a VM called vCenter, but it doesn't make sense to me that I would see vCenter listed as a VM.

Thank you for any help you can give me.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sparrowangelste
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Joe5 wrote:

Ok, here is my chicken and egg question.

If VCenter is installed as a VM, then what came first?

Was ESXi installed on all the hosts first and then VCenter was installed and configured to see all of them?

ESXi always comes first. vcenter can be installed on a physcial box but is worthless without esxi hosts to manage.

I know VCenter is supposed to manage the VSphere environment, but when I login using the VSphere client it isn't apparent what came first.  It looks top down just by appearance making me think VCenter came first.  VCenter, Data Center, Cluster, Hosts and VMs.

irrelevant. doesnt matter what was insatleld first.

I'm guessing this is the way it works.

1.  ESXi can be installed on any host and you can login to each host independently and manage any VMs from the host.

correct

2.  VCenter is optional.  It is nice to have and makes it great to see your entire environment and move around through it all without the need to login to each host separately.

correct again

--------------------- Sparrowangelstechnology : Vmware lover http://sparrowangelstechnology.blogspot.com

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

This is not unusual. Installing vCenter Server as a virtual machine is actually recommended.

André

RParker
Immortal