VMware Cloud Community
shahzadyusuf
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

VMWARE ESX 4.1 Intalalion failed while loading the additional driver

I am trying to install esx 4.1 and while it reaches to the point where it asks to load the additional drivers like NIC. I put the driver CD of NIC but it is not shown by clicking 'ADD' rather it gives message "The CD provided is not a valid VMWARE ESX driver CD". I went to the command mode issued the command ls -l /dev/cdrom but it says no such directory, please help I am very new to VMware.

Tags (5)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Welcome to the forum.

my NICs are realtek 8111D and TP-link TF-3200, i downloaded the linux drivers for them.

ESX/ESXi is not Linux and Linux drivers will not work on it.

You must have VMware driver, otherwise the device will not work at all.

As I know Realtek card does not work on ESX/ESXi...

Andre

Andrew | http://about.me/amauro | http://vinfrastructure.it/ | @Andrea_Mauro

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
golddiggie
Champion
Champion
Jump to solution

Where did you get the driver CD? Does it actually contain the hardware drivers for ESX 4.1? What is the NIC that you have where the ESX/ESXi 4.1 installer doesn't contain the drivers already??

VMware VCP4

Consider awarding points for "helpful" and/or "correct" answers.

shahzadyusuf
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

my NICs are realtek 8111D and TP-link TF-3200, i downloaded the linux drivers for them. Also there is no such device in /dev/cdrom directory it shows(even there is esx4.1 cd is there and the computer booted from it)

0 Kudos
AndreTheGiant
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

Welcome to the forum.

my NICs are realtek 8111D and TP-link TF-3200, i downloaded the linux drivers for them.

ESX/ESXi is not Linux and Linux drivers will not work on it.

You must have VMware driver, otherwise the device will not work at all.