VMware Cloud Community
MarshallX
Contributor
Contributor

VM Host SAN/Network Design

Hey guys, I'm building and trying to figure out a hypervisor network for a home lab and have come up against a few stumbling blocks. My proposed network is whats drawn out in the fancy ms paint image.

network.png

Now I have zero practical experience with infiniband, which is why I've started this endeavor. I've got dual 20gbps infiniband adapters in each machine. I'm curious on a few things,

1) I want the datastores to be stored on "Datastore Host" but I'm not sure how to go about that. Is there a way to create a share or maybe iscsi target, etc on say Windows server 2008r2 that would work? What would be the better performing solution?

2) Host1 will run the virtual machines and since I have Essentials not Essentials plus, I cant vmotion the virtual machines. My plan was to have the machines stores in Datastore Host added to inventory on both hosts, but to have them off on one host until completely shutdown on the other host, before turning them on, on host 2. Will this cause any corruption of the virtual machines, if vmswap and all vm data is stored on the Datastore Host?

Any other input (constructive) would be greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Ethan44
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hi

Welcome to the communities.

You need to create one volume on data store and specify that folder path inside the volume .

Take care!

0 Kudos
Gortee
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

Morning,

I will try to answer you questions:

1) I want the datastores to be stored on "Datastore Host" but I'm not sure how to go about that. Is there a way to create a share or maybe iscsi target, etc on say Windows server 2008r2 that would work? What would be the better performing solution?