VMware Cloud Community
vishardb
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Upgrade vSphere from 4.1 to 5.1

Good day everyone,

I am new to VMware and have been tasked with upgrading my company's VMware infrasturcture to v5.1

Presently our vSphere consists of:

• vCenter 4.1
    • 64 bit physical server
  • SQL Server 2008
    • 64 bit physical server
  • 10 ESX hosts running 4.1

I've been reviewing the document the vSphere Upgrade Guide and based on the procedure outined, approach is as follows:

• Upgrade vCenter
  • Upgrade Update Manager
  • Upgrade ESX hosts
  • Upgrade datastores to VMFS version 5

The upgrade of vCenter seems straight forward enough.

However, I have questions about upgrading the ESX hosts. I hope to use Update Manager to upgrade the hosts and they provide a warning to backup the hosts, but I haven't found any documentation about backing up the hosts.

Any assitance, advice, suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
memaad
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Hi,

You  can use vicfg-backup command to take backup of certain about configuration of ESXI host using VIMA. Else you can use Host profile to capture main configuration of ESXI host then restore it to ESXI  when the upgrade is un-successful  ( When using vIMA or host profile , you have to re-install ESXI host to restore back the some setting captured using this tools. )

-- Note : Usually user just re-install ESXI host if it fails while upgrade and use host profile to restore the settings.

Regards

Mohammed

Mohammed | Mark it as helpful or correct if my suggestion is useful.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
21 Replies
memaad
Virtuoso
Virtuoso
Jump to solution

Hi,