VMware Cloud Community
dougvm
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Single NIC with 5 IPs

Hi guys,

I am new to ESXI 5.5 and have a question. My server has a single NIC and I have been given 5 IPs by my service provider. I want to run 4 VMs on my server. I want one of the IPs to be assigned to the hypervisor, and the other 4 IPs to be assigned each to a host.

Is this possible with a single NIC, if so, can someone guide me in the right direction on how to accomplish?

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Unless your service provider restricts the number of MAC addresses on the same switch port (your uplink port), there's nothing special you need to do. Just assign an IP address to the host as well as to each of the virtual machines. That's about it.

André

View solution in original post

5 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership
Jump to solution

Unless your service provider restricts the number of MAC addresses on the same switch port (your uplink port), there's nothing special you need to do. Just assign an IP address to the host as well as to each of the virtual machines. That's about it.

André

DavidPasek
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution

Are these 5 IP addresses public? Are you sure you want have ESX management IP address from the same IP subnet as VMs? Do you want to have your ESX host accessible over internet? I don't think it is good idea and I would suggest you to re-think and re-plan your design.

-- The devil is in the detail.
0 Kudos
dougvm
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Yep, all public. But I really don't have much of a choice. The service provider will double my colocation rate to add a firewall. I think with good passwords, I should be fine (in theory).

0 Kudos
DavidPasek
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jump to solution