VMware Cloud Community
KMEStephan
Contributor
Contributor

Operation "Create standalone instance VMwareVCMSDS" failed: : Action: Create Standalone Instance

Dear all I'm new at this so hopefully i give al the right information in this post.

I'm upgrading our vmware virtual center server version 2.5 to vCenter Server 4.1

We now run Virtual Center server on a 32 bit windows 2003 server with MS SQL 2005 express version locally installed.

We have created a new 64 bit windows 2008 server with MS SQl 2005 express.

I have run the install.bat from the datamigration folder as discribed in the vSphere Upgrade Guide ESX 4.1/ESXi 4.1 vCenter server 4.1 vSphere clietn 4.1.

After the installation of vCenter server 4.1 was finished, page 40 step 16 of vSphere Upgrade Guide ESX/ESXi 4.1, we run into the following error:

vCenter Server LDAP recovery operation failed. Fix the errors in C:\Program Files\VMware\Infrastructure\VirtualCenter Server\status.txt and then execute C:\Install\VMware\datamigration\data\vc\recover.bat in order to restore LDAP from database

I have attached the restore.log and also the Status.txt and jointool-0.log

Does anyone have an idea what is going wrong.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
vmroyale
Immortal
Immortal

Hello and welcome to the forums.

Check out kb 1015887 - maybe your password has spaces or special characters?

Good Luck!

Brian Atkinson | vExpert | VMTN Moderator | Author of "VCP5-DCV VMware Certified Professional-Data Center Virtualization on vSphere 5.5 Study Guide: VCP-550" | @vmroyale | http://vmroyale.com
0 Kudos
KMEStephan
Contributor
Contributor

Dear vmroyal, thanks for your information but if you have a look into the jointool-0.log the error I get is different then the one's mentioned in this article.

See here my jointool-0.log

JoinTool started

Storage directory for LDAP instance: C:\Program Files\VMware\Infrastructure\VirtualCenter Server\VMwareVCMSDS

Operation Mode: initialize

Creating directory services instance VMwareVCMSDS