VMware Cloud Community
vmtgt
Contributor
Contributor

Newbie with vSphere questions

Hello:

I am new to the vmware. Have some basic questions and any help appreciated.

I have 10 Windows physical boxes. Now I want to virtualize them using VMWare. So this is what I understand and help with the scenario.

I have to install ESX host software and then create VM guest of Windows. The vm guest will be located on the ESX host. Now the question is do I install 10 ESX hosts, if it is then we do not have funds for the licenses. I gather a ESX host can support multiple VMguest. So how can I pool/group all my physical boxes and still install one ESX host software, over which if I can place the VM guests.

The point is my Windows physical boxes are stand alone blade servers, how can I make them appear them as one single machine to ESX software so I can reduce my licence costs?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
a_p_
Leadership
Leadership

Welcome to the Community,

with the appropriate resources - CPU, RAM, HDD (space and IOPS) - you can run multiple VMs on a single ESXi host without issues. Just think of the ESXi host as a server rack. As for licensing, VMware offers a free license which only restricts the API (i.e. you cannot use most of the commercial image based backup applications), and the VMs are limited to a maximum of 8 vCPUs each. Microsoft offers their server licenses as either Standard or Datacenter edition, where - as of Windows 2012 R2 - you can run 2 virtual instances with one Standard license, or any number of instances with the Datacenter license.

The above said, ensure you have a proper backup, and the appropriate support level for the hardware. Remember that if you are going to run all servers on a single host/hardware and this hardware fails, you may be in trouble.

André

0 Kudos
frcouture
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Hello,

Yes, you will be able to host all your Windows boxes onto a single ESXi host.