VMware Cloud Community
parsani
Contributor
Contributor

Need help with Nested ESXi please :)

Hi All,

This is my first discussion and I am very new to VMware community. I was wondering if you can help me with my questions regarding the project I am working on. Here is the scenario:

I have two decent laptops with i7 CPU and 32GB or RAM which are running workstation 10. On these workstations I have successfully installed two ESXi , VCenter (win2K8R2), Domain Controller (win2K8R2),Nexus 1000V and an Openfiler. These instances are running without any issues however I cannot find a way to make these two laptops to make a unified system. By that I mean I would like to somehow connect these two workstations to share resources as if all of the ESxi and other systems(windows, nexus and openfiler) use the same resource pool on a super server(2X i7 CPUs = 2X8cores, 2X32GB of Ram and etc.)

I believe to do so I would need to somehow get rid of Workstation layer and make it abstract but don't know how. I understand that if I had one super server I could easily install everything on a same workstation but the problem now is that these two laptops have different physical NIC and workstations are running on two different Windows 7 machines. How can make these workstations combine as one? Is it even possible?

Thank you all for your time and consideration, I apologize if my question is too simple or stupid as I am new to visualization concepts.

Cheers,

Ali

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership

Do you have the ESX hosts in the same cluster? Etc

Is networking working? Can you vmotion etc?

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".
0 Kudos
parsani
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Linjo,

Thanks for your quick response I really appreciate it Smiley Happy