VMware Cloud Community
GotToBeStrong
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Need NIC configuration recommendations

Hello vCommunity,

I am planning a pretty major network upgrade and I'd like to get some recommendations for NIC configurations if possible.

(How many pNICs I'll need for optimum configuration and if there are any pros/cons to various configurations...)

-

I currently have 4 Dell PE 2950's, one of which is esx 3.5 and the other 3 are windows native.

I'm planning on adding 1 more server (a Dell r710) and a disk shelf. End result will be all physical servers running vSphere (Standard or Advanced I haven't decided yet) and I will be implementing iSCSI at this point. (Please be kind, i'm an iSCSI noob here)

My existing Dell PE 2950's have 2 onboard pNICs (with TCP Offload). I will probably end up adding a 4 port broadcom gigabit PCIe-4 card (57xx) to suppliment those which would give me 6 pNIC ports on each physical server.

I'm looking for recommendations as to how I should configure for the following traffic: vmConsole, iSCSI traffic, Production Ethernet.

For each individual server:

-- I'd like to keep a dedcated port for the vmConsole (as recommended) on a management vLAN to seperate that traffic from my production ethernet.

-- I'd like to have 2 aggrigated ports for iSCSI traffic - Dedicated vLAN / Dedicated switching

Mixed attachment, some LUNs presented to vHost and some LUNs presented to vGuests.

If the Mixed attachment may be an issue, then I can settle on all iSCSI attachment be at the vHost level, but I would like to keep the layers of virtualization/file systems to a minimum if possible

-- I'd like to have at least 2 or more aggrigated ports for production ethernet traffic from vGuests.

(All ESX hosts will be rebuilt from scratch)

-

Given that the ESX install process will want to grab one of the onboard NICs for the console...