VMware Cloud Community
Ntinsky
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Migrating to new hardware

Hello everyone,

I could use your expertise with the following project:

Before i get into details i would like to clarify that i am a Senior Windows Server engineer and have never done something like that before so bear with me.

There is a current setup which consists of a 2 x ESXi host  (ProLiant DL380 G6) in cluster, running ESXi version 5,5 , 7967571 and cannot be upgraded due to unsupported hardware.

There is also Vcenter Server 6.5 appliance and a Netapp E2824 storage which holds about 20 VMs on it.

The hosts will be replaced by 2 x DL380 Gen10 (again in cluster) which will run ESXi version 6.7(not sure which build number).

They will be decommissioned since they have served their purpose and  can no longer support new/future version updates.

So, i am trying to make an assessment list with all the steps necessary and my questions are:

• What is the best practice to use, in order to move the current storage with the VMs, to the new hosts cluster? 
  • Before i unmount the datastore and detach any LUNs from the current hosts, do i have to upgrade VMware tools on each VM before i shut it down?
  • Can i somehow migrate the current Vcenter Server appliance to the new hosts, or do i have to install it on the new host from scratch?

Again, thank you in advance and excuse the long post since i have never tried that before and i could really use your expertise and/or your opinion on the topic.

Kind Regards

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Ntinsky
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

@e_espinel 

Unfortunately, the old ESXi hosts cannot be migrated to 6.0, due to hardware incompatibility (ProLiant DL380 G6), which is the main reason they are being replaced by 2 new ones.

Physical connection to he Netapp storage is via Fibre SAN. Same connection will be used with the new ESXi hosts.