VMware Cloud Community
plotikai
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

ESXi 7 install failing - no network device found

Hey everyone, I'm a total beginner just trying to play around with a home lab.

I have a Dell Precision 3240 that I am trying to install ESXi onto however it fails with the error "no network device found". My NIC is Intel I219-LM 0x8086 0x0d4e

From the research I've done, I think I need to install a driver to the offline bundle and found the community networking driver (https://flings.vmware.com/community-networking-driver-for-esxi#requirements) But I have no idea how to install this driver onto the offline bundle.

I'm at a roadblock here, the tutorials I found all seem to assume ESXi is already installed and needs to be upgraded. How do I get past this unsupported NIC error?

I have found a tutorial on injecting the driver into the ISO using v-front, so I attempted that and received a dependency error:

WARNING: The image profile fails validation. The ISO / Offline Bundle will still be generated but may contain errors and may not boot or be
functional. Errors:
WARNING: VIB VMW_bootbank_net-community_1.2.0.0-1vmw.700.1.0.15843807 requires vmkapi_2_6_0_0, but the requirement cannot be satisfied
within the ImageProfile. However, additional VIB(s) VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.1-0.20.17325020,
VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.2-0.0.17867351, VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.0-1.20.16321839, VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.1-0.15.17168206,
VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.1-0.25.17325551, VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.1-0.0.16850804, VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.1-0.10.17119627,
VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.0-1.25.16324942, VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.2-0.20.18426014, VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.2-0.15.18295176,
VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.0-1.0.15843807, VMware_bootbank_esx-base_7.0.1-0.30.17551050 from depot can satisfy this requirement.

At this point, I'm pretty stuck, not sure where to go from here