VMware Cloud Community
tkongpachith
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Cannot add standalone host to datacenter in vCenter/vSphere 6.7

Hello,

I am new to vCenter and trying to learn. Right now I am trying to add a new host onto my vSphere Client.

I am on version 6.7 for my VCSA and have a trial license for the moment.

Our ESXi Hosts are on version 6.7 as well.

--

Workflow for Attempting to Add a Standalone Host on my vCenter:

1. Created a new datacenter and named it "ESXi Hosts".

2. Now when I click to add a 'New Host' -

3. I get prompted to connect to what server so I put in my ESXi host IP address.

4. Then enter the credentials to log into that ESXi host.

5. Confirm the certificate.

6. Get a preview of the ESXi host of its model, version, vendor, and current VMs that are on that host.

7. Assign a license - I am assuming since I am on a trial that the only available license that is shown is the license to the Hypervisor so I kept it as selected then I clicked next.

8. For Lockdown mode, I have it set to disabled.

9. The VM location screen just to confirm to me that it will go to my new datacenter I created.

10. Lastly, click Finish.

--

I see that the Recent Tasks is showing a status at 80% and does not move until it ultimately fails and throws me the error of: "Cannot contact the specified host. The host may not be available on the network, a network configuration problem may exist, or the management service on this host is not responding."

--

I also have coordinated with my firewall team to open up these ports as bi-directional traffic (per VMware documentation I followed - https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphere/6.7/com.vmware.vcenter.install.doc/GUID-925370DD-E3D1-455B...) between my vCenter appliance server (1 total) and of all my ESXi hosts (Total hosts we have are 6):

22 - TCP - System port for SSHD
53 - DNS Service
80 - TCP - Direct HTTP connections
88 - TCP - Active Directory server