VMware Cloud Community
activation111
Contributor
Contributor

Can't deploy VM

I am new to VMWARE. Please be patient with me.

Installed vSphere on a Dell server. Installation went smoothly. It shows Press AltF1 and AltF11.

Installed vSphere Client on a Dell workstation with Windows XP SP2. Installation went smoothly.

Can connect to vSphere server from vSphere Client.

Tried to deploy Windows Server 2008 from vSphere Client to vSphere, but File --> New --> Virtual Machine is grayed out. Please see below screen shoot:

6428_6428.JPG

How can I create a new VM?

Also, where should I insert Windows Server 2008 CD, in the vSphere (Dell server) or vSphere Client (Dell workstation)? What's the proper procedures? I am really confused right now.

Thank you for your help.

Larry

0 Kudos
15 Replies
whynotq
Commander
Commander

welcome to the virtual world..! my first thought is "have you created a datastore?" if no storage then you can't deploy a VM to it.

0 Kudos
activation111
Contributor
Contributor

Thank you for replying promptly.

I don't know if I have created a datastore. How can I check? If not, how/where should I create the datastore?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
whynotq
Commander
Commander

go to the esx host- configuration tab- storage, if there is no datastore configured it'll say on the landing page, there'll be a wizard prompt for you.

0 Kudos
activation111
Contributor
Contributor

I don't have any datastore listed. I am going to create one.

Thank you so much whynotq.

0 Kudos
whynotq
Commander
Commander

you're welcome, enjoy...

0 Kudos
activation111
Contributor
Contributor

I created a datastore on the Dell server, which has around 1.8 TB of space. I would like to allocate 400 GB of space for a virtual server, SERVER04, but vSphere came back with an error saying I don't have enough spaces. Please see below:

Thank you for your help.

Larry

0 Kudos
whynotq
Commander
Commander