VMware Cloud Community
trickybits
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

some iSCSI related questions, vmk, multipath, jumbo frames

Recently I started playing around with iSCSI multipath in our lab environment, and also setting up jumbo frames.

Regarding jumbo frames I managed to set the MTU to 9000 on the vmk portgroup, on the vSwitch, and then on the physical switches and the SAN. My tests indicate that it works well.

I'm curious though, what exactly is the benefit of enabling Jumbo frames on the vmk portgroup? Some people mention that you should do it, and some don't mention it at all. What's your take on it?

Regarding iSCSI multipathing, I have done the following. Two vmk portgroups assigned to two physical nics (one active and one disabled, and then mirrored for the second vmk, so basically one physical nic for each vmk).

I have then assigned the two vmk's to the iSCSI Software Adapter. I then checked that I have all the different paths showing up, and finally I set the multipathing on each datastore to Round Robin. This seems to work.

In this process, what struck as surprising was the step of assigning vmk's to the iSCSI Software adapter through CLI. Is this something that needs to be done only in a multipath setup? Because on our production environment we're only using single-path, but I have never assigned a specific vmk portgroup to the iSCSI Software adapter in this fashion. If someone could shed some light on this, I'd appreciate it!

Thanks!

0 Kudos
8 Replies
rickardnobel
Champion
Champion

Regarding jumbo frames I managed to set the MTU to 9000 on the vmk portgroup, on the vSwitch, and then on the physical switches and the SAN. My tests indicate that it works well.

I'm curious though, what exactly is the benefit of enabling Jumbo frames on the vmk portgroup? Some people mention that you should do it, and some don't mention it at all. What's your take on it?