VMware Cloud Community
DAMahoney
Contributor
Contributor

lost connectivity to storage device affected datastores unknown

Hello,

I am receiving the error "lost connectivity to storage device affected datastores unknown" once a day, different times everyday. Sometimes it identifies which datastore is affected, so far it is only happening to two datastores. I have been running vSphere for about 10 months without issues and haven't changed/patched anything recently. I have 2 hosts, 2 Equallogic PS5000 sans connected through iSSCSI. Screen shots of my cirtual switch's are attached it that helps.

Thank you for your assistance

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Andy_Banta
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

I am receiving the error "lost connectivity to storage device affected datastores unknown" once a day, different times everyday. Sometimes it identifies which datastore is affected, so far it is only happening to two datastores.

Exact log information would be quite useful. Do you see any lasting effects from this, or is it just a message you see with no other problems seen?

I have 2 hosts, 2 Equallogic PS5000 sans connected through iSSCSI.

A first guess would be normal load-balancing operations done by the PS storage. The storage will disconnect from the host and then expect an immediate reconnection. It does this so connection loads can be spread effectively. But, that's just a guess ...

Andy

0 Kudos
DAMahoney
Contributor
Contributor

There are no lasting effects at all, the vm's on the datastore seem to stay up and there have been no user complaints. Which logs should I post, I just exported the logs and there are many to choose from. When I do the load balancing operation n the SAN should I expect my VM's to go down?

0 Kudos
Andy_Banta
Hot Shot
Hot Shot

When I do the load balancing operation n the SAN should I expect my VM's to go down?