VMware Cloud Community
jimbob201110141
Contributor
Contributor

esxi 5.1 dell openmanage / lockdown mode

This is probably a really basic question, but I am new to this aspect of esxi, and cannot seem to find an answer.

I am setting up a server (poweredge r515) running esxi 5.1 (free license).  I access it using the vsphere client, and do not have vcenter. 

To configure the hardware (e.g., set up raid), I installed "dell openmanage offline bundle and vib for esxi" on the esxi host.  I use dell openmanage server administrator managed node to connect.

Initially, this all works great.  However, after some time (maybe a day), I see a message (attached) that openmanage login has failed because "Lockdown mode is enabled in the managed node."  I have never changed the Lockdown mode settings and they are disabled on the esxi web ui.  Also, in vsphere client, under Configuration > Security Profile no options appear concerning Lockdown mode.

If I reboot, I am once again able to connect with openmanage, but get the same login error after a day or so.

I must be missing something basic here.  Any ideas?  Thanks much!

0 Kudos
10 Replies
jagars
Contributor
Contributor

I'm having same problem.  Does anyone have a solution to this?

0 Kudos
adriancomsa
Contributor
Contributor

Hi,

i am having the same issue after the upgrade to ESXi 5.1 and OMSA install through update manager on a dell R710 host.

is there any way the plugin enables lockdown but withot the check being present?

we need a resolution fast as i have around 50 R710 boxes. Should i expect the same issues on all?

thanks,

Adrian

0 Kudos
vivari
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

Lockdown  mode should be disabled first. To disable follow the bello steps.
Any one of the option is enough.
To configure Lockdown mode:

Log directly into the ESXi host.
Open the DCUI on the host.
Press F2 for Initial Setup.
Toggle the Configure Lockdown Mode setting.
Enabling or disabling the Lockdown mode using ESXi Shell