VMware Cloud Community
JGRANT072011101
Contributor
Contributor
Jump to solution

Vsphere 4 Snapshots Accumulating and cannot remove

Hello all this is my first time post so please excuse any information I fail to mention that's needed.

I have vsphere 4  4.1.0, 260247 installed on a single server and have a virtual machine that I have issues with the snapshots not working correctly

Basically we have the third party backup software that utilizes vmware snapshots for the backups.  What I have noticed recently is that upon the completion of the backup job, it would state that it could not remove the snapshot because the file was in use.

My problem now is that it appears I have 40 or so snapshots and I have tried powering down the machine, creating a manual snapshot, then removing all snapshots, but it still does not remove them from the datastore browser.

I will attach my vmdk file, log file and a snapshot of the datastore browser and the provisioning of the disk.

What I have tried is to clone the virtual machine; this machine is 1.5TB thick and I setup an iscsi with 1.8TB of space and it says that it cannot clone the VM because the target datastore doesn't have sufficient space.  It appears as though it is showing that over 3.77TB of space is being used on the datastore with the VM...not sure why but i'm betting it's because of the snapshots

Needless to say I'm not running any backups until I get this fixed.  My other issue is that the datastore is filling up from these snapshots.

At any rate hope someone out there can assist

Thanks for the time

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
idle-jam
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution

if you have another 100% of the same space available you could do a clone of it and have the snapshot committed. then you can work further with backup vendor to limit such occurrence again ..

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
14 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal
Jump to solution