VMware Cloud Community
Jazsko
Contributor
Contributor

Storage VS Storage

Hi,

We are currently in a process of deciding which storage we should choose for our VMware environment.

The environment is put together of 3 physical Dell servers, and one EMC NX4 NAS box with two extra arrays, effective storage of 10 TB. That is with RAID and hot spares configured.

Currently we are looking at three different Storage types. Dell Equallogic 6100XV or 6210XS, the new EMC vnxe2 or Nimble CS240.

Today we are also using Cifs for user home folders and Citrix profiles, but would like to push this out to a virtual windows server, so we can use Veeam to back it up.

Any suggestions or experiences would be highly appreciated.

thanks

6 Replies
vipinvk
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

I have no experience with DELL and Nimble storages . But as we have EMC VNX-2 (I think you meant VNX-2) in this list, I would go for EMC only.

0 Kudos
Linjo
Leadership
Leadership

Have you had a look at VSAN yet? Fits most of your needs and probably for a lower price then the options you listed.

Best regards, Linjo Please follow me on twitter: @viewgeek If you find this information useful, please award points for "correct" or "helpful".
0 Kudos
Jazsko
Contributor
Contributor

Hi, thanks for the reply. I acctually meant VNXe 2,

http://www.emc.com/storage/vnx/vnxe-series.htm

Its a new series that is comming out now.

0 Kudos
Jazsko
Contributor
Contributor

VSAN is not an option Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
ted_beverly
Contributor
Contributor

Hey Jazsko, why not VSan?