Wasisnt
Contributor
Contributor

Setting up SAN storage on new VMware installation

Im not sure if this is the right category or if its even a VMware question but I was wondering what people are doing with their storage to setup with VMware when it comes to arrays. We just got an IBM DS3512 SAN devices with 12TB of storage and Im trying to figure out how to set it up. We used NetApps with Xen before and this is totally different. These are going to be used for around 12-15 VMs and file storage.

My main question is what is recommended for setting up arrays and logical drives? Should I make one big array for the whole capacity of the SAN? or one for VMs and one for file storage? What is the benefit of having multiple arrays? Also, how does VMware use logical drives for storage? Do you make a logical drive for a group of VMs? A single VM? So many questions, so little time.

Im new to this so any recommendations on the best storage setup would be great.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

ESX(i) doesn't recognize LUNs greater than slightly less than 2TB so you will at least need to carve up the storage accordingly. It is possible to combine several LUNs to create larger datastores. NFS is different and you can use 16TB shares presented to ESX(i).

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
0 Kudos
DSTAVERT
Immortal
Immortal

This may be a help

http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/abstracts/redp4609.html?Open

-- David -- VMware Communities Moderator
Wasisnt
Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for the link. Now I have even more reading to do!

One other thing I was wondering about is how many iSCSI connections are needed for our setup. Our storage has 4 iSCSI ports on each of the 2 controllers and our blades have 4 network ports each. We have 2 blades that we are using with this storage and some others that most likely wont connect to it. I also read you should cross connect between 2 different switches with your iSCSI connections.

0 Kudos
uninspired
Contributor