VMware Cloud Community
Useless1
Contributor
Contributor

PS5000E Thin Provisioning?!

Hi,

We have a PS5000E in a ESX 3.5 farm. I am new to this SAN device and am trying to understand how thin provisioning works?

I understand as we are in ESX 3.5 using ISCSI VMware itself is not doing any thin provisioning, however it appears the PS5000E unit is... (As in I can create several disks in VMware of say 100GB and put a few GB's of data on them, but in the PS5000E console it shows only the few GB's actually being used.

The thing I do not understand is VM Aware Storage (VMAS), and vStorage etc etc...

I take it with this current setup, if I were to storage migrate a host from one LUN to another, the used space would remain the same on the old LUN (As in it would not free up after the move) because the Equallogic's idea of thin provisioning is based on the physical storage simply being accessed?

We are looking to upgrade this farm to vSphere 4 which would allow Thin Disk's via the GUI etc, so we could have double Thin Provisioning going on... and I keep reading about something in VMware which would allow it to talk to the SAN to tell it if a storage migration takes place to free up the physical space used on the old LUN... (Is this vStorage and since when has this been available) and how do I find newer products with this functionality?

0 Kudos
6 Replies
curriertech
Enthusiast
Enthusiast

That is quite strange! So if you create a 200G disk file on the datastore, the EQL volume shows significantly lower utilization? In my experience this would be normal at the point of creating the datastore as it is just a container and not a flat file like a .vdmk, but as soon as I add a vdisk at x size, that x size is reflected on the EQL side. I'm down to one ESX3.5 host and it's not connected to my EQL box, but I'll hook it up and test this next week to see if I can duplicate this behavior.